

To: Members of the Communities

Scrutiny Committee

Date: 13 October 2017

Direct Dial: 01824 712554

e-mail: democratic@denbighshire.gov.uk

Dear Councillor

You are invited to attend a meeting of the COMMUNITIES SCRUTINY COMMITTEE to be held at 10.00 am on THURSDAY, 19 OCTOBER 2017 in CONFERENCE ROOM 1A, COUNTY HALL, RUTHIN.

PLEASE NOTE THAT THERE IS A BRIEFING FOR ALL ELECTED MEMBERS AT 9.30 A.M. IMMEDIATELY PRIOR TO THE MEETING

Yours sincerely

G. Williams Head of Legal, HR and Democratic Services

AGENDA

PART 1 - THE PRESS AND PUBLIC ARE INVITED TO ATTEND THIS PART OF THE MEETING

1 APOLOGIES

2 DECLARATION OF INTERESTS

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business identified to be considered at this meeting.

3 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act 1972.

4 MINUTES (Pages 5 - 12)

To receive the minutes of the Communities Scrutiny Committee held on 7 September 2017 (copy enclosed).

5 LESSONS FROM THE RUTHIN PRIMARY AREA REVIEW (Pages 13 - 28)

To consider a report by the Principal Education Support Manager (copy enclosed) outlining progress of the Ruthin Primary Area Review and lessons learnt to date from the work undertaken.

6 SCRUTINY WORK PROGRAMME (Pages 29 - 46)

To consider a report by the Scrutiny Coordinator (copy enclosed) seeking a review of the committee's forward work programme and updating members on relevant issues.

7 FEEDBACK FROM COMMITTEE REPRESENTATIVES

To receive any updates from Committee representatives on various Council Boards and Groups

PART 2 - CONFIDENTIAL ITEMS

No Items.

MEMBERSHIP

Councillors

Huw Williams (Chair) Graham Timms (Vice-Chair)

Brian Blakeley Anton Sampson
Rachel Flynn Glenn Swingler
Tina Jones Andrew Thomas
Merfyn Parry Cheryl Williams

Arwel Roberts

Voting Co-opted Members for Education (Agenda Item No. 5 only)

Mike Hall Gareth Williams

Kathleen Jones

COPIES TO:

All Councillors for information Press and Libraries Town and Community Councils